You need to tell smrtPhone what to do with text messages that are sent to one of your phone numbers. Because smrtPhone phone numbers are extremely flexible and can be a way to reach a user or a group of users, you have to give the system instructions on where to send the message and who to notify.

If you do not set up an SMS flow to receive your text messages, the message will not be received by you.

It's a very simple process! Watch this video and follow the two steps below:

Note: this video also informs the Podio Users how to see their logs within their Communications App. Salesforce Users can find logs within Tasks.

Verify Permissions of your Number
The first thing you need to do is to make sure that the number you are working on has the permission to receive and send SMS/MMS. You can do that by going to your Phone Numbers admin page (https://phone.smrt.studio/phoneNumbers) and checking the Capabilities of the numbers.

voice: the number can make and receive voice calls
SMS: the number can make and receive SMS
MMS: the number can make and receive MMS

Set up your SMS Flow

In order to receive SMS/MMS, you need to make sure that the flow the number is assigned to has an SMS Flow active and that it is configured correctly.

In general, most people use the "Sms Inbox" applet which simply accepts the SMS/MMS and sends it to CMR into your Communications App (Podio) and Tasks (Salesforce).

You can choose to have the inbox set to:

  1. User - in which case it will send to your CRM and only show up in the web application/mobile inbox for the user selected.

  2. Group - in which case it will send to your CMR and show up in the web application/mobile inbox for all users who are in the selected group.

Of course, you can see the messages on your Web App, Mobile App, Google Chrome Extension, and within your CRM and you can get notified on the desktop, with a small popup window and a gentle sound when you receive a text message/voicemail.

You can disable this notification by accessing the upper corner of the Dashboard > My Account > Toggle Off Inbox Alert notification.

Or you can keep them and just mute them. You will still receive notifications for each message or voicemail, only visual, yet silent.


Bulk actions

Within the Inbox, you have the possibility to mark all your messages/voicemails - individual and from groups and to operate a bulk action on them:

  • mark them as read - all your voicemails or messages - depending on which inbox you selected - will appear as open

  • mark them as unread all your voicemails or messages - depending on which inbox you selected - will appear as unopened

  • delete all your voicemails or messages - depending on which inbox you selected - will be deleted

Please, keep in mind that you do not have an "Undo" button for the deleted conversations and they will be deleted for good.


Read About Voice Call Flow Options:

Did this answer your question?